For immediate release


23 APRIL 2023 (AUSTIN, TX) – Today, Texas-based trio Don't Get Lemon have released their sophomore full-length album Have Some Shame via à La Carte Records. Nestled somewhere between the flamboyance of 1980's New Romantics, avant garde post-punk and alternative dance, the nine-track LP follows the release of singles "Autocratic Gore", "Blow Up", and the title track, "Have Some Shame".

Have Some Shame is Don't Get Lemon's follow-up to their 2022 debut album Hyper Hollow Heaven. Here, the band further explores the conceptual groundwork laid in their preceding releases, now even more decisively-danceable with crooning, impassioned pop melodies against a bedrock of esoteric synths and pulsing electronic drums reminiscent of New Order and Depeche Mode.


Stream Have Some Shame HERE

Download Have Some Shame HERE

Order Have Some Shame HERE


Formed in late 2019 by longtime friends Austin Curtis, Nicholas Ross, and Bryan Walters, Don't Get Lemon have catapulted themselves to the forefront of the synth-pop craze through their penmanship of infectious anthems, an impeccable mix of retro-influenced and modern production, and a kinetic live presence – one that has solicited the attention of audience members and international touring acts alike, earning the band envied opening slots for artists such as Nuovo Testamento, She Past Away, Choir Boy, and Riki. The band takes their aesthetic cues from a spectrum of new wave and glam rock, such as Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Talking Heads, and Simple Minds, as well as contemporary artists like LCD Soundsystem, Alex Cameron, and Cold Cave.


In the past two years since the release of Hyper Hollow Heaven, the band has organized tours across the western/southwestern US alongside à La Carte Records labelmates Holy Wire and Lesser Care. Behind the curtains, Don't Get Lemon (often abbreviated as "DGL") has been hard at work penning the nine songs that have now materialized as the full-length Have Some Shame. Calling on the engineering expertise of Dan Duszynski (Gold Motel, Sub Pop, Loma, Secret Colours), Have Some Shame was recorded in the rural Texas Hill Country just outside of Austin. With shimmering layers of instrumentation and 37-minutes of driving dance rhythms, the album expertly blends its glittering synth-pop sensibilities with the theatrical high concepts of glam rock. The album arrives behind the sensory, Super 8mm visuals for lead single "Say Something New For Once", directed by Faiza Kracheni with cinematography by Bryan Lee Taylor.


As self-professed anglophiles and UK-football enthusiasts (the band takes its name from a line spoken by fictional Chelsea firm hooligans in the film The Football Factory), the Texas trio takes influence in both musicality and stage presence from English glam rock and post-punk icons such as Bryan Ferry, Morrissey and David Bowie. With a crooning baritone vocal range, lead vocalist Austin Curtis’ alluring stage presence sits comfortably between the sensual command of Alvin Stardust, the chameleon-like gender fluidity of David Bowie, and the desperate magnetism of Joy Division’s Ian Curtis. Flanked on both sides of him, guitarist and keyboardist Nick Ross and bassist Bryan Walters provide a propulsive backbeat of twanging, Peter Hook-like basslines, synth rhythms and crystalline guitar leads reminiscent of A Flock of Seagulls and The Psychedelic Furs. The result is a sensational pop-culture amalgamation that would fit effortlessly in the end credits of a John Hughes film.


Have Some Shame was recorded and mixed by Dan Duszynski at Dandy Sounds and mastered by Paul Gold (LCD Soundsystem, Animal Collective) of Salt Mastering. It will be released via à La Carte Records and Summer Darling Tapes on April 23rd, 2024 on vinyl, CD, cassette and digital. Early this summer, Don’t Get Lemon will be touring the midwest in support of Have Some Shame along with à La Carte co-signees Holy Wire. The tour will take place on the following dates and venues:


Don’t Get Lemon & Holy Wire Tour Dates:

June 8th - Austin, TX - Hotel Vegas

June 14th - San Antonio, TX - Hi-Tones

June 15th - Dallas, TX - Double Wide

June 16th - Tulsa, OK - The Whittier

June 17th - Kansas City, MO - Farewell KCMO

June 19th - Milwaukee, WI - Bremen Cafe

June 20th - Chicago, IL - Live Wire Lounge

June 21st - Ann Arbor, MI - Ziggy's

June 22nd - Pittsburgh, PA - Remedy

June 23rd - Cincinnati, OH - Madison Live

June 24th - Nashville, TN - The Cobra


Have Some Shame Tracklist:

1. Have Some Shame

2. Blow Up

3. Say Something New For Once

4. Highway 59

5. Pomp and Circumstance

6. Last Chance For Romance

7. Autocratic Gore

8. The Crest of a Wave

9. Pop Star Salvation